Nieuws EU 01

EPO signs validation agreement with Moldova

The European patent convention currently has 38 'Member States' and 2 'Extension States' (Bosnia & Herzegovina and Montenegro). In March this year, Morocco joined as a so-called 'Validation State'. In addition, as of November 1, 2015, it will also be possible to validate a European patent, filed on or after November 1, 2015, in Moldova. The European Patent Office (EPO) signed a validation agreement with Moldova to that end.

Including the two 'Validation States', the total number of countries in which the European patent can be validated is now 42. Do you have an interest in obtaining patent protection in Bosnia Herzegovina, Montenegro, Morocco and/or Moldova? Then please contact one of our patent attorneys for more information.